The United Nations Collaborative Programme
on Reducing Emissions from Deforestation
and Forest Degradation in Developing Countries

About the UN-REDD Programme

UN-REDD Programme countries map

The UN-REDD Programme is the United Nations Collaborative initiative on Reducing Emissions from Deforestation and forest Degradation (REDD) in developing countries. The Programme was launched in September 2008 to assist developing countries prepare and implement national REDD+ strategies, and builds on the convening power and expertise of the Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations (FAO), the United Nations Development Programme (UNDP) and the United Nations Environment Programme (UNEP). 

Support to Countries
The Programme currently supports 44 partner countries spanning Africa, Asia-Pacific and Latin America, of which 16 are receiving support to National Programme activities. These 16 countries are: Bolivia, Cambodia, Democratic Republic of the Congo (DRC), Ecuador, Indonesia, Nigeria, Panama, Papua New Guinea, Paraguay, the Philippines, Republic of Congo, Solomon Islands, Sri Lanka, Tanzania, Viet Nam and Zambia. To-date, the UN-REDD Programme’s Policy Board has approved a total of US$67.3 million for National Programmes in these 16 partner countries. These funds help to support the development and implementation of national REDD+ strategies.

UN-REDD Programme countries not receiving direct support to national programmes engage with the Programme in a number of ways, including as observers to the Programme's Policy Board, and through participation in regional workshops and knowledge sharing, facilitated by the Programme’s interactive online workspace. These countries are: Argentina, Bangladesh, Benin, Bhutan, Cameroon, Central African Republic, Chile, Colombia, Costa Rica, Ethiopia, Gabon, Ghana, Guatemala, Guyana, Honduras, Ivory Coast, Kenya, Malaysia, Mexico, Mongolia, Myanmar, Nepal, Pakistan, Peru, South Sudan, Sudan, Suriname and Uganda. 

Download request form to participate in the UN-REDD Programme: English | French | Spanish.

Click here for more information on UN-REDD National Programmes.

Paraguay Argentina Suriname Guyana Bolivia Argentina Chile Peru Ecuador Colombia Panama Costa Rica Honduras Guatemala Mexico Central African Republic Republic of Congo Gabon Cameroon Benin Ghana Cote d'Ivoire Nigeria Democratic Republic of the Congo (DRC) Zambia Sudan South Sudan Ethiopia Kenya Uganda Tanzanaia The Philippines Solomon Islands Papua New Guinea Indonesia Indonesia Indonesia Indonesia Indonesia Malaysia Malaysia Sri Lanka Viet Nam Cambodia Myanmar Bangladesh Bhutan Peru Pakistan Mongolia

Global Activities
The UN-REDD Programme brings together technical teams from around the world to help develop analyses and guidelines on issues such as measurement, reporting and verification (MRV) of carbon emissions and flows, ensuring that forests continue to provide multiple benefits for livelihoods and the environment, and supporting the engagement of Indigenous Peoples and Civil Society at all stages of the design and implementation of REDD+ strategies. The UN-REDD Programme also seeks to build consensus and knowledge about REDD+, to ensure a REDD+ mechanism is included in a post-2012 climate change agreement.

Click here for more information on the Programme’s Global Activities.

Donor contributions from Denmark, Japan, Norway and Spain now total US$118.3 million. For an overview of current funds and budget allocations, consult the Programme’s Multi-Partner Trust Fund.

Areas of work