The United Nations Collaborative Programme
on Reducing Emissions from Deforestation
and Forest Degradation in Developing Countries
 
 
 
 
Sri Lanka

As an island, Sri Lanka’s 2 million ha of forests are rich in endemic species of flora and fauna.  Sri Lanka’s forests, uniquely among its land-use sectors, can make a significant contribution to both adaptation and mitigation. Its forests are particularly vulnerable as roads and other infrastructure expand to boost national development and economic growth since the country only recently ended from a debilitating 30-year internal conflict.  Moreover, ‘forest analogues’, home garden systems, cover 22% of the land area and contribute the majority of the country’s timber and fuelwood supply.  As the tea and rubber industries continue to grow, it is essential that this crucial aspect of the rural economy is preserved.

Sri Lanka became a UN-REDD Programme partner in 2009. Sri Lanka’s UN-REDD National Programme was approved for funding at the 8th meeting of the UN-REDD   Programme Policy Board, with a request for some minor modifications. The document was resubmitted in September 2012. The National Programme is expected to start in early 2013.

The proposed national REDD+ roadmap is designed to achieve the following five Outcomes:

Outcome 1: National consensus reached on the Sri Lanka REDD + programme

Outcome 2: Management Arrangements contributing to the National REDD+ process

Outcome 3: Improved stakeholder awareness and effective engagement

Outcome 4: National REDD+ Strategy and implementation framework

Outcome 5: Monitoring and MRV results for REDD+ activities provided 

Key results and achievements of the UN-REDD National Programme in Sri Lanka

Programme Activity Updates

UN-REDD Programme Approves US$8 million in Critical Funding for REDD+ in Republic of Congo and Sri Lanka

March 2012

The UN-REDD Policy Board also endorses the Programme's Social and Environmental Principles and Criteria as a guiding framework for REDD+ countries. Read more...

En Français / Español

Stakeholders Endorse Sri Lanka's UN-REDD National Programme

February 2012

Sri Lanka is now ready to submit their REDD+ National Readiness Preparation Proposal (R-PP) and request for approval and funding at the UN-REDD Programme Policy Board meeting in March. Read full article…

8 New Countries Join the UN-REDD Programme

February 2010

The UN-REDD Programme welcomes eight more countries from Latin America, Africa, Asia and the Pacific to the Programme. Read full article…

The UN-REDD Programme welcomes five new countries

October 2009

Argentina, Cambodia, Ecuador, Nepal and Sri Lanka join the UN-REDD Programme, Denmark becomes a donor and Panama gets approval of its UN-REDD national programme. Read full article…

 
 
 More on UN-REDD in Asia-Pacific
 
 

   
  UN-REDD in Sri Lanka
 

Budget: US$4 million

Timeframe: 2012-2015 

 
   
  Resources
   
 

Asia-Pacific Communications materials

Sri Lanka Gallery

Technical reports 

Workshop reports 

National Programme Document
and Semi-Annual reports
 

Studies and other publications

 
   
  Links
   
  Sri Lanka's Ministry of Environment and Natural Resources   
 
   
  Contacts
   
  Subinay Nandy
UN Resident Coordinator
Sri Lanka
subinay.nandy@undp.org
   
  Anura Sathurusinghe
National REDD+ Focal Point/ Conservator of Forests,
Ministry of Environment  and Renewable Energy
anura.sathurusinghe@gmail.com
   
  Nalin Munasinghe                   
National Programme Manager  Nalin.Munasinghe@fao.org
   
  Thushara Perera
UN-REDD Programme Secretary  Thushara.Perera@fao.org
   
  Nanda Senanayake             
UN-REDD Admin Assistant  Nanda.Senanayake@fao.org
   
  Dinanji Karunaratne            
UN-REDD Finance Assistant Dinanji.Karunaratne@fao.org
   
  Nishantha Mallawaarachchi
UN-REDD Communications Officer
Nishantha.Mallawaarachchi@fao.org
   
  A. N. S. Baminiwatte                  
MRV National Consultant shanthabaminiwatte@gmail.com
   
  Akihito Kono
Regional Coordinator, UNDP 
Akihito.kono@undp.org 
   
  Thomas Enters
Regional Coordinator, UNEP 
thomas.enters@unep.org 
   
 

Ben Vickers

Forestry Officer, FAO

Ben.Vickers@fao.org

   
  Ananda Mallawatantri
Team Leader,
Environment, Energy and Disaster Risk Management
UNDP, Sri Lanka
ananda.mallawatantri@undp.org